Testimonials


ZOOM BASED COMPOSITE PHOTOGRAPHY WORKSHOPS

I'd just like to say a massive thank you for the 1-1 Zoom workshop we recently completed. When I saw the talk you and Sharon gave at my camera club, there was so much information and you were willing to share so much, that booking on the Zoom 1-1 was in no doubt for me. The fact you contacted me beforehand to specifically discuss my needs was fantastic. During the session itself, we went off at all sorts of tangents and that was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and your knowledge and skills are limitless! If anyone is thinking about doing this workshop - think no more - just book it. The whole session was an absolute pleasure. Thank again. Annette. (Annette Crook- Feb 2023)


I have just completed the Introduction to Composite Photography with Rob and I heartily recommend it. It was a 1-to-1 tutorial over Zoom and covered a huge range of topics. Rob got in touch before the day and made sure it was tailored to my current level of understanding and what I wanted to do. This meant that it was focused on what I needed to learn and didn't feel in formulaic or that I was learning things I didn't need to know. The use of different methods of presentation and using of my own images to practice on made it relevant, interesting and really made the information stick. I can't wait to use all these tools. (Isobel Lindsay - Nov 2022).


Hi Rob,

I just wanted to say a big thank you for such a wonderful workshop last Friday, I learnt so much! Before the workshop started the process of gathering my images to work on was certainly a learning experience in itself. During the workshop I found that time flew by and was blown away by your knowledge which you shared in an easy concise way.

I found the day exciting and great fun and can’t wait to try out all the techniques that I learnt. It is also such a bonus that I could record the major points so that I can look back and consolidate what was taught.

Kind Regards

Gill (Gillian Mackay - Nov 2022).


We contacted Rob following a presentation at our camera club, by himself and Sharon – which was in itself, one of the best we have ever seen. We arranged over zoom to book a workshop – Rob asked us what topics we were interested in working on and asked us to forward samples of the work for discussion, in order that he could prepare for the workshop.

The workshop began with Rob explaining the schedule for the day, but with the emphasis that diversions on topics, were more than welcome. This is not a school type ‘Chalk and Talk’ - far from it. The workshop is very interactive with skills practiced together. Plenty of opportunities to discuss points arising and ask questions. Should questions move on to a totally different topic Rob was more than happy to develop and discuss them.

We had the most informative workshop ever with loads of laughter along the way. Our learning outcome was covered in abundance. Needless to say, we immediately booked for another workshop. Can’t wait until the next workshop. Although we have a great deal of homework from Rob’s course in the meantime to attend to. Thank you once again. It was brilliant. (Barry and Christine Dickinson – Oct 2022).


I have been a fan of the Prenton Jones photography and creative flair for some time, but it was only recently I contacted Rob about their Zoom based workshops. I organised a session with Rob and having held an initial call to discuss what I was interested in, as well as what Rob teaches we picked a date for the session. The great thing about that initial call was that it gave Rob an idea of my skill level and he then adjusted the session to suit my abilities as well as what my objectives were.

I sent some of my images in advance of the planned session and then on the day, Rob walked through a vast array of the how’s and why’s of composite image creation. His style of teaching is easy going and intermingled between our conversations, Rob had some pre recorded videos that also helped explain and show the practical application of what he had just spoken about.

The day was a lot of fun with plenty of learning opportunities and a set of takeaway methods on how to develop my skill set on the composite / creative side of photography. I can 100% recommend Rob and his Zoom workshop and it’s definitely great value for money - (Tony Mulvenna - August 2022).


This is a follow up to my recent comments regarding my recent Workshop with Rob Prenton Jones. As previously mentioned, Rob is very keen for people who attended his workshops to keep in contact after the workshop and he would provide extra help if required. I therefore contacted Rob regarding a couple of images I was working on and, true to his word, Rob asked me to forward the images to him. Once Rob had reviewed the images he got back to me with suggestions on what he thought would improve the images and associated photoshop techniques to use. Proving his keenness to help and demonstrating nothing is too much trouble for Rob to help, he arranged a Zoom call with me and he went through the process he suggested. The other bonus was that I was able to record the session so that I could study and learn it fully afterwards. Rob was also keen to stress that if required I could always contact him for help. As previously stated anybody who attends one of Rob's workshops will definitely not be disappointed with both the Workshop and the follow up support provided. Well worth the money and I will definitely be booking another workshop in the future. - (Brian Hartley - July 2022).


I recently had a full day Zoom workshop with Rob Prenton Jones. This workshop can definitely be recommended and a must for people who want to improve their photography and Photoshop skills. Before the workshop Rob arranged a Zoom call so that we could both discuss and plan suitable topics for the workshop that would cover my learning requirements. Rob was excellent at helping me to consider what I needed and also giving his own ideas of what would be beneficial to me. Once we were happy with our plan then a date was set for the Workshop. It was also arranged that I would send some of my own images to Rob that could be used in the workshop, which was an excellent idea because we would be then working on my images which made it more beneficial.

Full of excitement the day of the workshop arrived and, in all honesty, I was not disappointed. The workshop lasted a full day and was broken into segments and at times we would have a break to give me time to practise the skills learned in that segment and I could be sure that I fully understood everything and could discuss any issues with Rob when we continued into the next segment. The other added bonus was that Rob arranged that when needed parts of the session would be recorded, enabling me to revise later to ensure I fully understood everything. Rob also provided his own tutorial videos which also helped.

Rob's teaching style is excellent and he puts you at ease and nothing is too much trouble. It was a great day learning topics that I can use in the future. Rob is also keen for you to keep in contact after the workshop and to provide further help if required. The workshop was competitively priced and a great asset to photographers and this workshop is highly recommended. I look forward to booking a further lesson to learn more advanced skills - (Brian Hartley).


Yesterday I had a full day Zoom workshop with Rob Prenton Jones. This workshop can definitely be recommended. Rob discussed what I needed and reviewed some of my images beforehand, so that no time was wasted, he knew what I needed. I want to make more realistic composite images and one of my biggest problems was identifying correct perspective. Rob took me through some images and showed me how to work out the horizon position in a background image and match the model image to suit it. Rob also showed me methods for making selections, colour grading, constructing shadows, using mist and much more. Obviously I would no be able to remember all that, so Rob let me make several recordings of the most important points. It was a great day learning topics that I will be able to use on many images now and in the future. Thoroughly recommended – (David Wright).


Prior to the session with Rob on creating composites I had loads of ideas and close to no photoshop skills. I had just started to use it for basic editing. Rob and I had a zoom planning session. We then used my images and idea, to create a composite within the lesson, covering all the basic skills; with Rob demonstrating and me practicing. We video recorded key segments; enabling me to revise later and ensure I picked up the finer details. So in a very short time, I’ve progressed from almost no skill, to being able to actualise an idea and create a composite with effective workflow and file management. Rob also included some very practical tips about taking images for compositing. A million possibilities! I’m delighted! This all sounds serious, but it was a load of fun! Rob is a very clear communicator and effective teacher. I loved the applied and highly interactive learning style. I look forward to consolidating these skills before having a further lesson and pursuing some more advanced skills. - (Jenny Hartman, Melbourne, Australia May 2022).


I’m lucky enough to call Rob and Sharon friends and over the last few years I’ve loved watching their various presentations on their approach to processing and compositing. After a chat over coffee with Sharon a few months back, I decided to sign-up for a session with Rob and I’ve just completed the second session today. Rob and I had a detailed zoom call a couple of weeks before so that I could explain my level of knowledge in relation to PS and what I was looking to get out of the session. Rob then suggested a number of other techniques which would complement my existing knowledge.

Due to recent period of illness, Rob was kind enough to split the session over two mornings so that I could take it all in without being overwhelmed and I found this worked very well for me as I was able to maintain my concentration levels. The unique selling point for me is Rob’s ‘show and tell’’ approach, followed by the ability to record the technique and save, this means I have bite-size snippets of video to which I can easily refer in the future. Rob has a gentle, humorous and easy style of sharing his extensive knowledge, the workshop was well paced and he was happy to explore other ad-hoc techniques which cropped up as a consequence of our conversations during the sessions. It is extremely competitively priced and in my view a sound investment. With Rob’s final offer of post workshop support, This workshop comes highly recommended – (Tracy Edwards).


I attended a ZOOM training session with Rob many months ago and have used the lessons which he taught. I’ve created a couple of basic, composite images and felt that I really did need to know more about the more advanced techniques in Photoshop. So, I booked another one-day teaching session with Rob recently. We explored some of the more advance ways to generate composite images and, although it was stretching at times, Rob explained the concepts in a way which I was able to understand. Hopefully, when the current COVID restrictions allow, I plan to get a chance to pick up some images and get working on them.

As always, it is a fun day learning with Rob, which I think is the key to the success of these Zoom meetings. I certainly whole-heatedly recommend them to anybody –(Ian Gunning).


Thanks, Rob for a great 1 to 1 composite photography workshop. I found it very informative and interesting. I cannot believe how much we covered in one day and the time flew by. Rob covered the subject in a very relaxed way. We covered all the subjects initially discussed and more. Rather than sitting taking notes all day, Rob allowed me to record his instructions as he demonstrated the different techniques to view later. I would highly recommend this course for anyone wanting to learn composite photography - (Dave Smith).


I am no expert, but definitely not a beginner in photography or photoshop, so I was concerned how much I would get from a 1:1 with Robert. However, I have to say from start to finish it was totally worthwhile. Robert was so helpful from our first initial chat prior to the 1:1 to establish what I was looking for, to our day on Zoom, where Robert had the day planned around what I had asked about and covered everything at a more advanced level. I would totally recommend this to anyone, beginner or advanced, the session is well structured, clear and easy to follow. Thank you - (Gillian Temple LRPS DPAGB).


A big thank you to Rob for an informative, wonderful fun day. After watching Sharon and Rob’s Zoom talk a number of times, I decided to contact Rob to arrange a one -to-one . Rob was extremely helpful, very knowledgeable and helped me to work on my own images with lots of advice and tips. The whole day was wonderful and I really enjoyed myself. I strongly recommend the day. I look forward to when you restart your workshops so we can meet in person – (Janice Barton CPAGB BPE4*)


Had a most enjoyable day with Rob exploring elements of composite photography. Although I have a lot of experience producing my own composites, I am totally self-taught mainly using trial and error to teach myself. I wanted to see if my methods were the norm and also to expand and hone my skills in certain areas such as producing realistic shadows, improving my use of the gradient tool, working on perspective and matching colours. Rob designed the workshop to my needs and we worked on my own images to heighten the learning. Rob has an easy, understandable and clear method of teaching, is generous with his information and allows one to record information if desired. It is certainly great value for the money spent and comes highly recommended - (Ann Francis FIPF EFIAP/g).


Thank you for a very informative online workshop “Intro to Composite Photography”, which was delivered in a very relaxed and fun way. You covered everything that we discussed in our 1st Zoom call to set up the workshop, and even dealt with extra things that came to mind as the day went on. I learned so much and the recordings are an extra bonus - (Pat Brennan LIPF/AFIAP).


Excellent day covering various fundamentals of compositing. Prior to the session Rob and I had a Zoom meeting to discuss my requirements which became the programme for the day. We did go off on a tangent from time to time but that was a bonus. I found Rob's instructions very easy to follow and he answered any questions thoroughly. Overall 10 out of 10 for an informative and enjoyable day - (Gary Hodgson).


Robert, I just wanted to convey my huge thanks for a brilliant Photoshop workshop last Friday. You focussed on exactly what I needed to learn, worked on my own pictures and helped me achieve the results that I required. I really enjoyed that day. Being able to record your tuition was extremely helpful as I can now play back at my leisure and pause at each step of the way. Brilliant session. Many thanks and best wishes (David Wheeler).


Thanks Robert for a great 7 hour online workshop. I really enjoyed it. You are so knowledgeable, and what you didn't know, you found out, and explained simply and clearly. You are very generous with your knowledge and techniques. I found your teaching style excellent. Recording our sessions was so helpful, as I can go over these at my leisure. I can't wait for Covid and all the restrictions to be over, so I can do an in person workshop with you in Wales.

Kindest regards,

Dr Kerry Boytell EFIAP/s, GMAPS


I first met Rob and Sharon at a presentation locally, I was lucky enough to see a second, and this time Zoom, presentation that had been arranged by my camera club during covid. Having enjoyed and been inspired by their presentations I signed up for a 1-to-1 workshop with Rob. This has to have been the best decision of my photography journey which spans almost 20yrs. I learned so much during this 1-to-1 session and my photography is and will continue to be all the better for it.

What to expect: A professional and well thought out workshop which is tailored to meet your needs and individual skills. Rob is an amazing teacher and will always adjust his teaching to match your knowledge base. Nothing is too much bother and repeating steps until you have fully grasped the fundamentals required to complete the skills is never an issue. To this if you add the videos you can record and are sent by Rob, plus the word documents and post course assistance you would be a fool not to jump at this opportunity. You will never get this kind of value for money elsewhere and no I’m not gaining anything from this testimonial. Just read the others and you will see the same consistency throughout (John Lambe).


After a presentation to my camera club by Sharon and Rob, I took up the offer of a day long, one to one Zoom workshop with Rob to learn the basics of compositing. What a day and what a vast amount of information and help from Rob. I learnt a huge amount and now I am interested in the advanced course. Rob has a great teaching style and goes at your pace so you don't feel left behind. He followed up the day with a number of handouts to help with failing memory! It was a most enjoyable and well spent day. Thank you, Rob. Highly recommended – (Garrett Hayes).


For anyone thinking about doing the Introduction to Composite Photography workshop with Rob, my advice is simply just go for it. After enjoying a fantastic Camera Club presentation talk from Rob and his wife Sharon, I was left intrigued and wanting to know more. I contacted Rob who set up a quick chat to find out what I wanted to achieve and my overall goals.

From there, a tailor made 1-to-1 session was set up to cater for my skill level and abilities. The day was really enjoyable, and to say I learned lots would be a massive understatement as we covered all aspects of photography and Photoshop. Rob is excited about what he does and his attention to detail and how it is conveyed in an easy-going friendly manner makes this day so worthwhile.

Rob allowed for Zoom recordings and sent on a wealth of tips and information on various topics to have going forward on my photographic journey. I look forward to another workshop with Rob and hope to attend a workshop with Rob and Sharon at their studio in the future – (Andrew Duff).


I can’t recommend the Introduction To Composite Photography session with Rob enough. I have always wanted to be able to do composite photography, but as a very novice photographer with very limited photoshop experience it felt too overwhelming to even start. I was so fortunate to attend one of Rob and Sharon’s camera club talks, I was literally hooked from that night.

Robert has guided me to get the best out of my learning experience, the Zoom day was just awesome - we covered so much, I can now achieve images I am proud of. The videos we made during the day are excellent and the support after the day has been fantastic. My enthusiasm to improve my photography and photoshop skills has been ignited – (Amanda Hancock).


Having wanted to learn more about composite photography, I’d booked Rob and Sharon for a camera club talk. This then led to a 1-2-1 session with Rob so that I could really understand how to use Photoshop to create composites. Prior to the day, Rob and I talked on Zoom so that he could understand my knowledge of Photoshop so that the session was tailored to my needs and skill level. The day was really enjoyable, it’s most definitely improved my knowledge of what I can do in Photoshop and was full of little nuggets of information that will help not only with composites but in my other photography interests. The Zoom worked really well and allowed me to record small videos that I can refer to in the future. Thanks Rob, I’m looking forward to creating my first composite – (Paula Chatterton).


After enjoying a presentation by Rob and Sharon that sparked my interest in composite photography, I signed up for a one-to-one session with Rob. I've just enjoyed a full day that was designed around my needs/wishes and set at my level. We've covered a wide range of topics including selections, perspective, shadows, changing colour and high pass. Rob explained everything in a clear, relaxed and helpful manner, and I was able to record the parts that I want to review. I've also come away with instruction videos and Word documents related to the learning today. Thank you, Rob - it's been a great day and I'm off to practice now! – (Maureen Anderson).


Hi Rob,

Thank you for a wonderful day. And I mean that literally- full of wonderful moments. I couldn’t believe how quickly the day went. There wasn’t one moment when I thought “No I don’t really understand that, can you explain that again” or “stop treating me like an idiot, I know that”. I don’t know how you managed to steer the tuition to hit the perfect level between the two but I’m glad you did. Having recently failed my CPAGB I’ve been feeling very disheartened about my photography so this was just the tonic I needed. Your encouragement and constructive criticism was the perfect pick-me-up. I can’t wait to carry on polishing my woodland fairy image & creating new ones following your superb tips on perspective, colour matching and adding highlights/shadows. This has definitely been one of the highlights of Lockdown – (Michèle Martin).


I booked a 1:1 workshop with Rob having seen his and Sharon’s presentation on composite photography which is something I’d aspired to but my efforts had always fallen way short of the mark. The day whizzed past – time flies when you are having fun, and Rob certainly made the day hugely enjoyable as well as very instructive and interesting. Rob has a wonderful way of teaching, his style is easy going as well as teaching with clarity, interest and expertise and I really enjoyed my day. I came away with a new set of skills and renewed enthusiasm for putting them into practice. Thank you so much Rob – (Val Brierley).


Having been doing creative photography for some time with mixed result the images came together more by good luck than skill. I always found getting the perspective and colour balancing correct to be the difficult part. I was fortunate to be in the audience for a presentation given by Robert & Sharon Prenton Jones about creative photography and over the course of their presentation they said they did workshops and one-to-one day courses via Zoom. The following day I gave Robert a call followed by a Zoom meeting to discuss how he could help me and after sending him some of my images for him to view a plan was put together for a one day course via Zoom to help improve my work and explain perspective etc. His teaching method are very clear and easy to understand. I found the whole day very enjoyable and learned a lot of new techniques to help in my creative images. I now look forward to when I can attend one of their face to face workshops - if they’re as good as the Zoom course I think I will be in for a great day - (Gerald Chamberlin DPAGB, EFIAP).


Thanks a million for a brilliant bespoke Photoshop workshop last weekend. I have a good knowledge of Composite Photography and have won lots of awards for my work. I had the privilege of receiving a talk from Robert and Sharon at our club a couple of weeks ago. So, I decided to contact Rob as I need to brush up on some of my Photoshop techniques. I had an initial meeting with Rob over Zoom where we discussed my requirements. I also sent Rob a list of the various training requirements and techniques that I wanted to concentrate during the training. The training on the day was really excellent and Rob worked at a steady pace that was so easy for me to understand his techniques and his great non-destructive workflow. We got through all of my list of training needs and this will make my workflow much easier and also give me a much better understanding of good composite photography. Rob is a really nice guy and we had a great time working together on the day. I would highly recommend Rob for this type of workshop which works so well over Zoom - (Seamus Mulcahy).


I enjoyed the first ‘Introduction to Composite Photography workshop so much that I did a follow-up, one-day course with Rob Prenton Jones too. This was another ZOOM meeting, which is ideal in these days of lockdown, as there is a one-to-one situation with no distractions and you can discuss all and any Photoshop issues which you might have. We covered a wide range of topics and Rob explained them in a very clear and easy-to-understand way. He has a very relaxed teaching style, which allows you the freedom to ask any detailed questions concerning Photoshop, which text books and YouTube videos may not explain simply. As this was a follow-up course, the Syllabus was mainly defined by me. This made the day very relevant to what I’m trying to achieve at the moment, and I got a great deal out of it. Like the first course, there are handouts to cover the ‘How to’ aspects of Photoshop. We covered a lot more technical aspects of Photoshop and photographic concepts this time too. In summary, I would say that this was another very well spent day with Rob. I would recommend these one-day workshops to anybody who needs to be able to use Photoshop correctly. Thanks again, Rob - a highly valuable, fun day which has been extremely useful already - (Ian Gunning).


I have just had a 1-1 workshop session with Rob, and I found this extremely useful. I have never delved into composite photography but was interested after seeing a brilliant zoom talk by Rob and Sharon for our camera club a couple of weeks previous. I learnt so much on the day and more and cannot thank Rob enough for explaining how to do this in such an easy to understand and patient way. We worked through each stage until I got my head round it! It actually worked really well with Zoom because we could share screens and he could see what I was attempting to do. I got some printed info sheets as well to help me remember all we had covered. Rob contacted me in advance and asked what I would like to cover on the day then I sent him some of my photographs that I wanted to use for the session. I would highly recommend anyone to do the ‘Introduction to Composite Photography’. I can’t emphasise enough how it has helped me to understand layers and many other areas of Photoshop. Can’t wait to get myself going now with this. Thank you so much Rob! – (Elise Garland).


I had the pleasure of a bespoke 1:1 training day with Rob Prenton Jones in January 2021. I would have reasonable photoshop skills, being able to produce the edits I need for my work. However, my knowledge of composites, techniques and short cuts is extremely limited. After an initial consultation with Rob, he planned our day and the session moved at the perfect pace to allow me watch Robs screen, take notes on what we were doing, and then put into practice myself, what I had just watched. In the morning we used Robs images to make a composite, and after a quick lunch break, we then concentrated on my own images. Switching from Rob's screen to my own screen, was seamless and, despite not being a Zoom fan, this session ticked every box on my ‘to learn’ list in the comfort of my own home. As we moved from image to image, Rob demonstrated many features I never knew existed. I would recommend Rob and Sharon 100% and would actually agree that this session worked better via zoom, than actually being there in person - (Ollie Quinn).


Rob - thanks a million for a great, fun day of learning! I cannot believe how much ground we covered in one day. Your teaching style is very relaxed, but we still went through all the topics which I needed to and more. I am not an expert in Photoshop, however, you explained everything concisely and in a way which was easy to follow. The keyboard shortcuts will be very useful too. I learnt so much more than I expected to. There was time for me to practice the techniques being demonstrated on the course, which was useful. You took time during the day to explain any gaps in my Photoshop knowledge, which was very much appreciated. There are also printed notes which back up the major topics on the course. Overall, it was a fun and I really enjoyed the day. Due to current restrictions, it was delivered over ZOOM - but that was not an issue, as the course is very much centred upon individual learning needs. This "Introduction to Composite Photography" course was definitely great value for money and I will be recommending it to others in the future - (Ian Gunning).


I have just completed the very enjoyable "Introduction to Composite Photography" on Zoom with Rob Jones. It was fun and informative. The contact that we had in advance of the session ensured that we could make the maximum use of the available time and that the day was structured around my particular needs and abilities. Time was allocated to allow me to practice some of the techniques to ensure that I had understood them. Rob explained everything very clearly and was happy to make some adjustments to the programme if a gap in my knowledge was identified as we went along. The session was backed up by some good notes that were supplied as we covered each area. All in all, it was a very good day and I would thoroughly recommend it. I find that Zoom is particularly suited to teaching sessions as the screen sharing allows you to see the steps very clearly - (Christine Swalwells).


Thanks so much for an excellent workshop yesterday, I wasn’t sure how it was going to work doing it remotely but in some ways it was better than face to face. I cannot believe how much ground we covered in a day and I found your teaching style suited me perfectly. I was anxious beforehand as I was a complete novice with Photoshop, however, you explained everything concisely and in a way that was so easy to follow. The regular summaries and keyboard shortcuts were useful too. I learnt so much more than I expected, definitely great value for money and I shall be recommending you to others in the future - (Alison Tubbs).


Thank you so much for a super day. I am feeling very enthusiastic about using these new skills - what fun! I have plenty of time on my hands at the moment so have no excuse whatsoever not to practice. Thank you! - (Sarah Horrocks).


Thank you very much for your fabulous workshop on Composite Photography. The topics covered matched my learning needs. These included work on different methods of selection, merging files to create a single image and adjusting colours etc to match two files so making the combined images look like one. These seemed the most important aspects of the many topics discussed. I now need to practice the skills learned so I become more fluent. After that I plan to book another session to advance my skills further at a later date - (Adrian Newell).